New Bishops for the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church


The African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church during its 49th Quadrennial Session in the city of Charlotte, North Carolina from July 18-24 elected three persons to the office of Bishop in order to fill vacancies created by retirement.

The retiring Bishops are:

Senior Bishop George W. C. Walker, Jr.

Bishop S. Chuka Ekemam, Sr.

Bishop Warren M. Brown

The following persons were elected:

The Reverend W. Darin Moore (formerly of Greater Cenntennial AME Zion Church in Mt. Vernon, New York)

The Reverend Dr. Seth O. Lartey (formerly of Goler Memorial AME Zion Church in Winston-Salem, North Carolina)

The Reverend Dr. Michael A. Frencher (formerly of Trinity AME Zion Church in Greensboro, North Carolina)

Senior Bishop Walker will be succeeded by Bishop George E. Battle, Jr.