On April 16 at 6:58pm local time, an earthquake registering 7.8 magnitude struck off Ecuador’s central coast at a depth of 19 kilometres, causing widespread damage. The Ecuadorian Red Cross has also mobilized health teams and hospital units, and deployed a National Disaster Response Team to carry out a rapid assessment of the humanitarian needs following the earthquake. Photo by International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Prayers for Victims of Earthquakes in Ecuador and Japan

News & Events, Social & International Affairs

On behalf of The World Methodist Council we express our deepest condolences and concern to the families and loved ones of the victims of the 7.8 magnitude earthquake that hit Ecuador on Saturday (16 April) and the twin earthquakes (6.2 and 7.0 magnitude) that hit Japan last Thursday and Saturday. Such natural disasters are a part of the earth we inhabit, yet it is difficult to come to terms with the devastation and loss of life that they bring. We ask the Methodist/Wesleyan family to pray for these two countries as they cope with the great loss and begin the rebuilding


21st World Methodist Conference Update

News & Events

COUNTDOWN: 20 WEEKS TO GO! The 21st World Methodist Conference is just 20 weeks away! As we count down the days (140!) until the opening worship of the Conference, we thought you would like an update on what is happening. Early Registration Extended The Early Registration deadline has been extended to 15 April! So you have a few more days to register for the Conference before prices go up. Reserve Your Hotel Room Be sure to also make your reservation with the Hilton Americas – Houston. Dates for the Conference room block are 29 August – 4 September. You may

Photo courtesy of Gladys P. Mangiduyos, UMNS
Bishop Rodolfo Juan, center, with the Rev. Rubynell Estrella, pastor of Central United Methodist Church in Manila, lead a candlelight prayer service at Central for farmers caught in a violent protest at the Spottswood United Methodist Church.

Statement on Violence Against Farm Workers in the Philippines

News & Events, Press Releases, Social & International Affairs

The World Methodist Council lifts up its voice against the violence toward protesting farmers in Kidapawan, Philippines. We pray for the government leaders in the Philippines to act with compassion in considering the plight of these farmers after losing their livelihoods and their only means of sustenance. They have not been supported by their government, but have been left to suffer when the forces of nature destroyed their hard work. For our God commands: Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to act. Do not say to your neighbor, “Come back tomorrow and

MEOR Stakeholders at Ponte Sant`Angelo Church before the Launch Service.

Methodist Ecumenical Office Rome (MEOR) is Launched

Ecumenical Relationships, News & Events

The Methodist Ecumenical Office Rome (MEOR) was dedicated during an act of worship at Ponte Sant’ Angelo Methodist Church on Wednesday, 6 April. The service was attended by representatives of the Vatican and the Anglican Communion, and members of the diplomatic corps and other churches in Rome. Officers of the World Methodist Council, other members of the MEOR Stakeholders’ Forum, and the Chair of Churches Together in Rome read the scriptures and led the prayers; the Director of the Office, The Revd Dr Tim Macquiban was the preacher. Greetings were offered by Archbishop David Moxon (representative of the Archbishop of Canterbury to the Holy See and Director

image001 (1)

WMC Opens European Desk at Methodist Church House, London

News & Events

Bishop Ivan Abrahams, General Secretary of the World Methodist Council, will be taking up semi-permanent residence at Methodist Church House, London, following the official opening of a new desk for the World Methodist Council European Office. Present at the opening were Kirby Hickey, Treasurer/CFO of the WMC; Doug Swanney, Connexional Secretary; David Friswell, World Church Relations Team Leader; representative members of the WMC British Committee and members of the Connexional Team. Notably absent from the event was Bishop Ivan Abrahams himself, who was not able to attend due to illness. In Ivan Abraham’s place, Kirby Hickey officially unveiled the desk – cutting a paper