World Methodist Peace Award Nominations

Nominations for the World Methodist Peace Award are now being accepted. Presented annually to an individual or group who has worked for peace, justice and reconciliation in their lives and in their ministries, the World Methodist Peace Award is a 30 year tradition of the World Methodist Council. The criteria for the Award are (1) Courage; (2) Creativity; and (3) Consistency in their work and witness to peace.

Dr. Jo Anne Lyon is presented with the 2015 World Methodist Peace Award at the 21st World Methodist Conference in Houston, Texas on 4 September 2016.

Dr. Jo Anne Lyon received the 2015 World Methodist Peace Award for her work with World Hope, a global Christian relief and development agency which she founded in 1996. The immediate past General Secretary for The Wesleyan Church, Dr. Lyon is committed to “balance … both justice and righteousness, rooted in the Bible and in our historical identity.” Previous recipients include Lawi Imathiu, Nelson Mandela, Boris Trajkovski, Mikhail Gorbachev, and Jimmy Carter.

To Nominate:

To nominate someone who meets the criteria for the 2016 World Methodist Peace Award, download a nomination form and send it along with relevant supporting information by 1 September 2017.


Send to:

World Methodist Council Peace Award
PO Box 518
Lake Junaluska, NC 28745 USA
E-mail to