2014 World Methodist Peace Award Nominations

News & Events, Press Releases

Nominations for the 2014 World Methodist Peace Award are now being accepted. Presented annually to an individual or group who has worked for peace, justice and reconciliation in their lives and in their ministries, the World Methodist Peace Award is a 30 year tradition of the World Methodist Council. The criteria for the Award are (1) Courage; (2) Creativity; and (3) Consistency in their work and witness to peace. In 2013, Marion and Anita Way received the award for their work in Angola and Brazil, and the 2012 recipient of the award was Joy Balazo for her work of peacemaking in Asia and the Pacific. Previous

Nigeria Kidnapped Girls

Statement on the Mass Abduction in Nigeria

News & Events

Twenty days ago, an estimated 234 girls between 16 and 18 years old were taken from a school in northeastern Nigeria by a group of Islamic militants called Boko Haram. Boko Haram was founded in Northeastern Nigeria and has been very active, and very violent, since 2009. The name translates, literally, as “Western education is sinful.”